Education Reform


To become a national model for African American and African-Diaspora culture that effectively provides the necessary services, programs, and engages the community in our Education for a truly Equitable Education System.


    Committed to intellectually, culturally, and socially inspiring the whole student toward excellence and success. Through programs, resources, services, mentoring and activities that foster a nurturing, supportive, and welcoming environment focused on students of African origin. Moreover, we are dedicated to engaging the broader community, the surrounding black community, and the world for balanced student and leadership development enjoined with the promotion and distinction of the academic excellence and self-actualization of our Providence Youth who are the Leaders of today.


      Members of this group have created and follow these guiding principles:

      • Attack the Issue not the Person
      • Bring your community with you
      • State views and ask genuine questions
      • Share all relevant information
      • Use specific examples and agree on what important words mean
      • Explain reasoning and intent
      • Focus on interests, not positions
      • Test assumptions and inferences
      • Jointly design next steps
      • Discuss undiscussable issues
      • Maintain confidentiality
      • Collaborate internally and externally
      • Be decisive and bold
      • Maintain transparency
      • Be accountable to each other and to our communities
      • Members of the AAAG, when expressing their concerns, will refrain from speaking on behalf of the group or individual group members without the express consent of the group or group member

      Education Reform Subgroup Members

      Group members:
      Chace Baptista, Roberto Gonzalez, Zuli Vidal, Sherri Bevel, Christine Alves, James Monterio, Tim Quainoo, Anthony Carrion, Julius Hoff, Alice Dele, Rudy Mosely, Terrell Osborne, Valerie Tutson, Alejandra De Paz

      Staff support:
      Barbara Mullen, Providence Public School District and Jillian Fain, City of Providence self-actualization of our Providence Youth who are the Leaders of today.

        Our AAAG Members

        Alejandra De Paz, City Staff
        Anjel Newman - AS220
        Annette Alves – Federal Hill House
        Anthony Carrion – Dean of Students, Nowell Leadership Academy
        Brooke Waldron - Indigenous Community member
        Caterina Cable – Community member
        Cedric Huntley – Executive Director, Nonviolence Institute
        Celeste Johnson – Community member
        Chase Baptista – Providence Public School District
        Charles Newton – Administrator, State of RI
        Cheryl Galloway – The MET School
        Cheryl Isom-Wie – Director, The MET School, Coordinator, Consultant and facilitator at STEM Based Education
        Corey Brown – Providence Police Officer, Community Mentor, WE GOT NEXT
        Cris Potter – Founder, Red Rooster Solutions
        Crisolita Figueiredo – Community and Political Activist
        Deborah Harris – D.A.R.E
        Denise Debarros - Community Advocate
        Desmond Ranglin - JARI
        DJ Rukiz – The Juice 88.9 online radio
        Doug Victor – South Side Community Land Trust
        Dr. Adama Brown-Hathaway - UWRI
        Dr. Dannie Ritchie - MD, MPH Founder, Community Health Innovations of Rhode Island

        Dwayne Boo Hackney - It's on US/ No More Murder
        Elaina Scorpio - Tenant Network RI

        Elise Swearingen - Project Manager, Community Advocate
        Enrique Sanchez – BLM RI PAC, Reclaim RI, Prov DSA, Rhode Island Socialists, PSL RI
        Georgina Sarpong – Co-owner,Abundance Farms, Black Lives Biz
        Gina Fisher-Cook - State of RI Traffic Tribunal, Community Advocate
        Dr. Hume Johnson -CEO and Brand Strategy Partner at Hume Johnson Consulting LLC,RWU
        Jacob Brier - Historian
        James Monteiro - Reentry Campus Program
        James Vincent - NAACP
        Jamiere Wilson - Artist


        Jennifer Hopgood - Family Nurse Practitioner & adjunct professor at Simmons University
        Jessica Brown - RI School of Design, Jessica Brown Designs
        Jessica Vega – City Counsel Ward 5, Central Falls
        Joseph Bruce – Artist
        Joshua Avila - City Staff
        Julius Kolawole - African Alliance
        Justin Russillo - Realtor at Phipps Realty, Community Advocate
        k. funmilayo aileru- studio artist and freelance designer
        Kathleen Egersheim – Awakening Church
        Keith Stokes – Rhode Island Black Heritage Society/1696 Heritage Group
        Kenya Fullen – Dept of human services
        Kendra Ault – College Unbound
        Kenia Richards – Clinical Therapist, Community member
        Kie Hamrick – Community member
        Latifat Odetunde - Youth Advocate
        Marchae Belcher – Community member
        Marco McWilliams -Founder PBSS, Center for Reconciliation, the Swearer Center Brown University, College Unbound
        Marijoan Bull

        Mary Beth Meehan - Photographer, Writer and Educator
        Meko Lincoln - Amos House

        Michael Shepherd – City of Providence Staff
        Nicole da Cruz - Rhode Island School of Design
        Pamela Hughes – Mount Hope Cowboys
        Regina Clement – Delta Sigma Theta-Prov Alum
        Rochanda Delves- Community member
        Sade Lee – Community membe
        Sharon Morris – Omni Development Corporation
        Shirley Hood- Destiny Productions
        Sonia Thomas – Dunamis Synergy, West Elmwood Housing Development Corp
        Taritha Hill-Cooper – Simply Mom, Inc
        Teresa Guaba Community member
        Terri Wright- DARE

        Theresa Guzmán Stokes – Rhode Island Black Heritage Society/1696 Heritage Group
        Tiarra Mack – RI State Senate District 6
        Wayne Montague – WINN Residential

        Get Involved - join us today!