AAAG - Members


The African American Ambassadors Group is a grassroots group of community leaders who protect, uplifts, celebrates, and empowers the African American community in Providence by developing and advancing the City of Providence policies that dismantle oppressive systems and extinguish racial, social, and economic equity gaps for African Americans.

Guiding Principles

Members of this group have created and follow these guiding principles:

  • Attack the Issue not the Person
  • Bring your community with you
  • State views and ask genuine questions
  • Share all relevant information
  • Use specific examples and agree on what important words mean
  • Explain reasoning and intent
  • Focus on interests, not positions
  • Test assumptions and inferences
  • Jointly design next steps
  • Discuss undiscussable issues
  • Maintain confidentiality
  • Collaborate internally and externally
  • Be decisive and bold
  • Maintain transparency
  • Be accountable to each other and to our communities
  • Members of the AAAG, when expressing their concerns, will refrain from speaking on behalf of the group or individual group members without the express consent of the group or group member

Our AAAG Members

Alejandra De Paz, City Staff
Anjel Newman - AS220
Annette Alves – Federal Hill House
Anthony Carrion – Dean of Students, Nowell Leadership Academy
Brooke Waldron - Indigenous Community member
Caterina Cable – Community member
Cedric Huntley – Executive Director, Nonviolence Institute
Celeste Johnson – Community member
Chase Baptista – Providence Public School District
Charles Newton – Administrator, State of RI
Cheryl Galloway – The MET School
Cheryl Isom-Wie – Director, The MET School, Coordinator, Consultant and facilitator at STEM Based Education
Corey Brown – Providence Police Officer, Community Mentor, WE GOT NEXT
Cris Potter – Founder, Red Rooster Solutions
Crisolita Figueiredo – Community and Political Activist
Deborah Harris – D.A.R.E
Denise Debarros - Community Advocate
Desmond Ranglin - JARI
DJ Rukiz – The Juice 88.9 online radio
Doug Victor – South Side Community Land Trust
Dr. Adama Brown-Hathaway - UWRI
Dr. Dannie Ritchie - MD, MPH Founder, Community Health Innovations of Rhode Island

Dwayne Boo Hackney - It's on US/ No More Murder
Elaina Scorpio - Tenant Network RI

Elise Swearingen - Project Manager, Community Advocate
Enrique Sanchez – BLM RI PAC, Reclaim RI, Prov DSA, Rhode Island Socialists, PSL RI
Georgina Sarpong – Co-owner,Abundance Farms, Black Lives Biz
Gina Fisher-Cook - State of RI Traffic Tribunal, Community Advocate
Dr. Hume Johnson -CEO and Brand Strategy Partner at Hume Johnson Consulting LLC,RWU
Jacob Brier - Historian
James Monteiro - Reentry Campus Program
James Vincent - NAACP
Jamiere Wilson - Artist


Jennifer Hopgood - Family Nurse Practitioner & adjunct professor at Simmons University
Jessica Brown - RI School of Design, Jessica Brown Designs
Jessica Vega – City Counsel Ward 5, Central Falls
Joseph Bruce – Artist
Joshua Avila - City Staff
Julius Kolawole - African Alliance
Justin Russillo - Realtor at Phipps Realty, Community Advocate
k. funmilayo aileru- studio artist and freelance designer
Kathleen Egersheim – Awakening Church
Keith Stokes – Rhode Island Black Heritage Society/1696 Heritage Group
Kenya Fullen – Dept of human services
Kendra Ault – College Unbound
Kenia Richards – Clinical Therapist, Community member
Kie Hamrick – Community member
Latifat Odetunde - Youth Advocate
Marchae Belcher – Community member
Marco McWilliams -Founder PBSS, Center for Reconciliation, the Swearer Center Brown University, College Unbound
Marijoan Bull

Mary Beth Meehan - Photographer, Writer and Educator
Meko Lincoln - Amos House

Michael Shepherd – City of Providence Staff
Nicole da Cruz - Rhode Island School of Design
Pamela Hughes – Mount Hope Cowboys
Regina Clement – Delta Sigma Theta-Prov Alum
Rochanda Delves- Community member
Sade Lee – Community membe
Sharon Morris – Omni Development Corporation
Shirley Hood- Destiny Productions
Sonia Thomas – Dunamis Synergy, West Elmwood Housing Development Corp
Taritha Hill-Cooper – Simply Mom, Inc
Teresa Guaba Community member
Terri Wright- DARE

Theresa Guzmán Stokes – Rhode Island Black Heritage Society/1696 Heritage Group
Tiarra Mack – RI State Senate District 6
Wayne Montague – WINN Residential

Get Involved – join us today!