Mental wellness


We envision a world in which there are no systemic barriers to positive mental health in the African American Community.


The African American Ambassador Mental Wellness Group will address the immediate and unique needs of the African-American Community.

The group is currently focused on a re-examination of practices professionally, culturally, medically and educationally as it pertains to Black adolescents receiving services. A specific focus is on addressing behavioral health staffing and services within Providence Public Schools; as well as therapeutic school placements outside of the public-school system. The group’s efforts are in response to the Providence School Health Needs Assessment (2020) that indicates a strong need for increased and better coordinated behavioral health services for Providence students, especially Black youth. Providence School Health Needs Assessment

    Mental Wellness Subgroup Members

    Group leaders:
    Sal Monteiro

    Group members:
    Maryann Fonseca, Stephanie Gyamfi-Darkwah, Elizabeth Guillen

    Get Involved - join us today!

    Skip To Menu
    Skip To Content
    Skip To Accessibility Options
    Skip To Language Options